<body>

My Immortals
Monday, October 04, 2004

My computer just crash again this weekend.. No, I don't throw them out of window!! Just cant connect it to the net, probably they think that we're spreading virus all over the network again...

I guess this should be a good news and bad news for me.. good in a way that I don't have anything else to distract me from studying and finishing my assignment...

Bad in a way that I cant do some researching about my Pcl case for tomorrow..
bad in a way that I don't know what's going on EPL and Serie A for the weekend, which is frustrating to wait until 6 o'clock just to hear the SBS world news.. that is not a good thing for me..

so, what did I do, for the weekend? Headed to Clayton to have not-so-nice dinner at Es-teller .

Lessson 1 : just stick with your usual meal coz u know that is good and delicious.. never try something else coz it can be something that's really oily and you lost your appetite halfway through!!

and I use $15.00 from my already not-so-much-money-in-it account to buy CHAMPIONS.. that's nearly RM40 if u want to buy it in M'sia.. there's no way I could spend that much money for a 120 pages magazine back home.. I could use my already tight budget for a good night out..

but, I'm in aussie and it cost me only $15 in every 2 month.. it not just a 2 month-outing magazine.. it's 2 month late... thinking that since we're living in 21th century, where everything can be on a click of a second, the August/September issue just got out in here while the new edition with Jose Mourinho parading his toothy smile are all over vendors in Europe or all over the world except Australia..

but, it's a good deal magazine... $15 for the glossy picture from the Europe football world.. the article is good and keep me occupied for the whole night.. the stats about last season Champions League.. and the best bit : PAOLO MALDINI... last edition got a picture of him as a newborn cuddling around his mom and Cesare beside them. No money worth that kind of picture.. Issue 4, a 7 year old Maldini with his big blue eyes with all his siblings..so, damn cute!!!

This edition is about THE IMMORTALS: the 250 greatest European players of all time...

The best?
1. Johan Cruyff
2. Zidane
3. Franz Beckenbauer
4. Michel Platini
5. Alfredo DI Stefano
6. Marco Van Basten
7. PAOLO MALDINI
8. Ferenc Puskas
9. Eusebio
10. Thiery Henry

That's only 3 players still playing this season.. Zidane, Maldini and Henry..

This is what they wrote about Paolo Maldini that I am so overwhelmed:

"Perhaps as an act of youthful rebellion, Paolo didn't always support dad Cesare's Rossoneri. Seduced by the considerable footballing charm of Roberto Bettega, he must have left his father wondering if his son would do the unthinkable and play for the enemy.

But, it was Milan he signed for , making his debut in 1985 at the age of 17 and still playing for his team 19 years later surpassing Gianni Rivera's record tally 501 appearances for Milan.

A one-club man in an age where footballers have become globetrotters, Maldini is probably the ultimate model professional. Consistently uncontroversial in interviews, rarely banned (and he's defender!!) or cautioned, blessed with a reading of the game that on occasion now covers for his declining pace, he has come to symbolise the clubs he plays for and to stand for a slightly idealised version of Italian defender".

Well, that's what the UEFA magazine wrote about him... that's just a piece of information and it came with a good2 looking picture of him in his mid-20s and he still is now..



There's one other section that bring some amusing thought in football world.. they made a homage to the footballers whose personalities and prowess recalls the heroes of the silver screen..

Guess who cam first for the similarities contest? Well, it always david beckham and his twin in hollywood, Brad Pitt.. as Brad once said, they are type that people just love to hate because of their genetics.. you can't blame them for having a cute good looks..they're blond, have fabulous wife and been considered as the gold couple of their own world.. and they're good with that they're doing..

Another one is Robert Pires, one of the no.7 winged wonders.. he and Johnny depp is the two flashy swashbucklers who boldly wear facial hear where none has been worn before.. worn under the chin, hair can seem about as stylish as a ponytail on an ageing lothario but these two can carry off.. and I got him already on my wall..

Last but not least, My rossoneri, my idol, my man, my Italian guy.. he bee compared with some Italian chap that I never heard before. But, what they wrote about Paolo really struck me..


"International symbols of Italian masculinity at its most accomplished, so graceful they’re underrated.. Marcello (the guy, an actor) once said 'I don't understand why American actors have to suffer so much to identify with their characters. Me, I just get up there and act. It's fun"

Paolo Maldini would appreciate the sentiment, defenders and actor have usually brought a brand of effortless mastery to the task in hand – in Maldini's case, making a crucial tackle, in Marcello's case, not being distracted by Sophia's Loren, which make it terribly easy to underestimate them.

It is consider a minor disgrace in Italy for a player like Paolo who never been acclaimed as European or World Player of the year, a dual neglect regarded in some part of the football world as a crime against the best.

Maldini looks as fashionable in a football strip and the defender was singled out by Giorgo Armani as the footballer he'd most like to wear his wares (not Becks!!).. it took nearly a decade for Armani to forget the idea and stop pursuing Maldini.

Maldini is the defender which sets the standard to which they aspire. The great stars are enigmatic. Maldini is accessible as a part-time DJ, but as footballer he remains resolutely unquotable. It was obvious that , though he got the most beautiful eyes which suggest intimacy, you never really knew what was behind that wry, self-mocking, slightly exterior"

For nearly ten years, from USA 94' that I saw this great defender (in the tv, of course!!), and it still breathtakingly wonderful watching him play on the pitch like today when I saw Milan AC vs Celtic.. and the fact that he takes his shirt of after the whistle just a small bonus..

I don't know what's got into me when it comes to Italian.. it just something..

And watching Anthony (Italian also, but, a little bit short from the usual my Italian guy) singing Andrea Boccelli song, nearly made me weep.. that's is the best performance I ever heard from a non-artist in a national television.. and he came close as the second best to Andrea himself I can tell you.. I'm still overwhelmed by his performance and just wished that I had my VCR on when he perform that song....

That's me with my Italian story, my football world and I guess only I understand what it really meant and there it goes my weekend... back to UNI
&faded to grey at 10/04/2004 09:50:00 am♥

SENSATIONALISED-BLOGSPOT
/NOTE.

The truth is rarely pure and never simple

Oscar Wilde,
The Importance of Being Earnest, 1895, Act I

/GLAMOURESQUE
♥ ♥ ♥ aJLa I'm no angel.. and i manage to remain alive in my own quirky way

"Look at the stars, and not the reflection of the moon."

*having my wickest dream come true *hint* dvz *hint*
*not to kill anyone as a doctor
*a person who can swept me off my feet
/SPEECH.'

/CONTACT.
@ my friendster

/CURTSY.

/SOUL MUSIC.